My First Blogger Award!

liebster-award

I guess I have arrived. My blog got nominated for its first award by another blogger – the Liebster Award. Thank you Nimi, blogger for Simple Moments in Life!

One of the things I love about blogging is the opportunity to read personal stories from people living all over the world. Although Nimi lives in India, even U. S. readers might be surprised at how much they can relate to her world.

I remember enough college German to know that liebe is the German word for love. I assume a Liebster Award means a person loves the blog (or the blogger!) The process of this chain-mail-letter-like award is to answer questions posed by your nominator and then to nominate ten other bloggers for the award. The goal seems to be to increase readership for the nominee. Here goes with the questions:

  1. Define yourself in a sentence.

You would go and make the first question impossible, wouldn’t you? I’m much too complicated for definition in one sentence.

  1. Who’s your favorite author?

This question is impossible, too. I have several favorite authors and poets, and I read a wide range of books. My favorites include: Terry Tempest Williams, Diana Gabaldon, Margaret Atwood, Sigurd Olson, Mary Oliver, Billy Collins, Louise Erdich, and myself. (Yes, I like my own books, too!)

  1. What kind of music do you like?

Again, I will give a plural answer, because I like several kinds: alternative rock, classic rock, classical, jazz, folk. Stop asking such hard questions!

  1. What gives you the greatest happiness?
    Oh shoot. Just kill me now, will you? No one thing gives me happiness. It’s a combination of things. And mostly what gives me happiness is giving other people happiness.
  2. What’s your dream holiday destination?

Lately I’ve been thinking about Bermuda and Scotland/Ireland. Maybe the Jersey Shore.

  1. To you, blogging is __________________

. . . Like publishing my own newspaper. I’m a journalist by training, so that appeals. It’s also an outlet for a different kind of writing than I am able to do during my day job as a science writer or my night job as an eco-mystic romance writer. Mostly, I blog just for fun and to share.

  1. Whom do you draw inspiration from?

Argh — there you go again! I get inspiration from more than one person – my friends, other authors and poets, my dog, nature. The trick is to be open to the inspiration.

  1. What’s your favorite snack?
    Ooooh, this one I can answer in the singular! Chocolate. Hands down. Oh, but it pairs well with wine. Okay, wine and chocolate. Sorry, two answers.
  2. Your all-time favorite movie?
    Okay – this one I can truly answer with one thing, no fooling or sneaking necessary: The Princess Bride.
  3. Two things about yourself that you love.
    What?! I just got used to answering with one example, now you want two! I would say I love my indomitable humor and my ability for compassion. Oh, but then there’s my creativity. Shoot. Sorry, that’s three.

I would like to nominate the following blogs for the Liebster Award:

Jennifer’s Journal https://jenniferkellandperry.wordpress.com/

Spiral Visions https://lisaspiral.wordpress.com/

I would nominate Writer in Soul, but she only accepts cash awards (Smile) https://writerinsoul.wordpress.com/

10 Years a Single Mom http://10yearsasinglemom.com/

Things my Ex Said http://thingsmyexsaid.com/ (although it has more followers than the Liebster rules allow, and so do some of the others I’ve listed, I’m sure.)

Travelling the World Solo https://wwellend.wordpress.com/

Joshi Daniel Photography http://joshidaniel.com/

Northern Visions Media https://northernvisionsmedia.wordpress.com/

Kwentokoto https://jehanforro.wordpress.com/

Notes from the Coulee https://bobnellis.wordpress.com/ (Although he hasn’t posted anything in a while. Get on it, Bob! You were my inspiration to begin blogging.)

I enjoy reading your blogs and seeing your photos, and look forward to more. There is no compulsion to accept if you have a no-award policy, or if you’ve already won this award from someone(s) else.

Here are my 10 questions for you:

  1. Why did you decide to start blogging?
  2. What gives you comfort?
  3. Do you have any pets?
  4. What’s a recent book you read that you liked and why?
  5. What’s your favorite meal?
  6. Does the current place you live in feel like home or is there someplace else that feels that way for you?
  7. Where do you find your inspiration?
  8. What makes you laugh?
  9. What haven’t you done in your life yet that you’d like to do?
  10. If you were a tree, what kind would you be?

Rules: Once you are nominated, make a post thanking and linking the person who nominated you. Include the Liebster Award sticker in the post, too.

Nominate 10 other bloggers who you feel are worthy of this award. Let them know they have been nominated by commenting on one of their posts. You can also nominate the person who nominated you.

Ensure all of these bloggers have less than 200 followers.

Answer the ten questions asked to you by the person who nominated you, and make ten questions of your own for your nominees.

Lastly, COPY these rules in the post.

ALL THE NOMINEES ARE FREE TO ACCEPT OR REJECT THE NOMINATION.

6 thoughts on “My First Blogger Award!

  1. Hey Marie,

    Thank you so much for answering all my questions. I really loved reading all the answers, especially your humour. I love each of your posts and look forward to reading more.

    Nimi

Leave a Reply

