The Spot Where my Phone Used to be

The spot in question.

The spot in question.

So I got rid of my landline phone this week. I have never been without an old-fashioned phone in my house. But the only calls I ever received on it were telemarketing calls (even though I’m on the “Do Not Call” registry), and over the past few months, I’ve been preparing for this change by updating my phone number to my cell number with all the organizations that need to know.

Plenty of people I know have done this same thing and survived. But what if I forgot to notify an important organization? What if someone local is trying to reach me and doesn’t have my cell number? What if cell service goes out and I simply MUST make a call? What if I need to call 9-1-1 and they can’t locate me correctly through my cell signal?

It will be okay, right? Right??!

I do not need Halloween to be scared this month. I only need to look at the spot where my phone used to be.

9 thoughts on “The Spot Where my Phone Used to be

  1. So….can I have your reject? My phones are in the process of kicking the bucket and I’m too far out of town to get adequate cell reception.

  2. For three long years I have contemplated banishing my land line to the pile of things that have outlived their usefulness. Every time I approach the task with any sense of urgency, I have been able to find something else that is more pressing if not downright critical to do, until the mood passes. There is a difference between procrastination and rearranging priorities.

Leave a Reply

