The Ears and Doors of Yale

An interesting carving in an archway at Yale.

An interesting carving in an archway at Yale.

I have a navy blue sweat jacket with white letters emblazoned across the chest that spell out “YALE.” Ivy League paraphernalia are not common in northern Minnesota, so I get sideways looks when I wear it. It’s also not common to “brag” in this manner about going to an Ivy League school. When someone is curious or brave enough to ask if I went to Yale, I delight in saying, “Yes! . . . But only for three days.”

Door1You see, I went to a science writers conference there a few years back and couldn’t resist buying the jacket. I wear it when I’m in the mood for a social joke, or when I’m cold (which happens quite often).

The wording over the door says "Yale News." A door for journalists.

The wording over the door says “Yale News.” A door for journalists.

Anywho, I thought I’d share with you some photos of my Yale meanderings. I have this thing for doors, and Yale has some great ones. It also has some great ears. If you ever get the chance to walk the campus in New Haven, Conn., look for these!

The dining hall door. Note the cooked poultry above it.

The dining hall door. Note the cooked poultry above it.

Door2Door3

2 thoughts on “The Ears and Doors of Yale

Leave a Reply

